Close this search box.
©Vincent Olivaud / Ocean Fifty / Pro Sailing Tour 2023

Wind of Trust

Crêpes Whaou! 3 then FenêtréA-Cardinal then FenêtréA-Mix Buffet then Groupe GCA-Mille et un sourires then Wind of Trust

The third trimaran of the Whaou! series, skippered once again by Franck-Yves Escoffier, was built to the maximum dimensions allowed by the rules of the Multi50 class (renamed Ocean Fifty in 2021). Larger than her predecessor, Crêpes Whaou! 3 sets a greater sail area and weighs in 400 kg lighter. The mast has been stepped further aft, allowing her to carry a much larger jib on the solent stay. Although bulkier at the stern, the main hull is narrower overall. The long, wave-piercing floats are more effective in heavy seas.

No revolution, just evolutions. By moving the weight further aft and increasing the buoyancy of the stern section, the designers were able to refine her entry into the water.

Crêpes Whaou !
© Jean-Marie Liot/Crêpes Whaou !

In 2012 she took the name FenêtréA-Cardinal and then FenêtréA-Mix Buffet. With Erwan Le Roux at the helm, she secured victories in the Transat Jacques Vabre (2013 and 2015) and the 2014 Route du Rhum.

FenêtréA-Mix Buffet
© François Van Malleghem/Grand Prix Guyader

Subsequently fitted with one-design foils created by VPLP specifically for the Multi50 class, she finished second in the 2018 Route du Rhum 2018. Sold the following year to Gilles Lamiré and renamed Groupe GCA-1001 Sourires, she won the 2019 Transat Jacques Vabre crewed by her owner and Antoine Carpentier.

Groupe GCA-Mille et un sourires
© Bonnie and Clark/Groupe GCA-Mille et un sourires

In 2023, the trimaran comes into the hands of Christopher Pratt and becomes Wind of Trust.






VPLP Design


CDK Technologies


fiber glass / carbon


15,24 m


15,20 m


1,70 m/3,50 m

Air Draft

23,77 m



Sail Area

208 m² / 255 m²


2009: 1st in the Transat Jacques Vabre (Crêpes Whaou! 3, Franck-Yves Escoffier & Erwan Le Roux)

2012: 1st in the Québec–Saint Malo (FenêtréA-Cardinal, Erwan Le Roux)

2013: 1st in the Transat Jacques Vabre (FenêtréA-Cardinal, Erwan Le Roux & Yann Eliès)

2014: 1st in the Route du Rhum (FenêtréA-Cardinal, Erwan Le Roux)

2015: 1st in the Transat Jacques Vabre (FenêtréA-Prysmian, Erwan Le Roux & Giancarlo Pedote)

2017: 2nd in the Transat Jacques Vabre (FenêtréA-Mix Buffet, Erwan Le Roux & Vincent Riou)

2018: 2nd in the Route du Rhum (FenêtréA-Mix Buffet, Erwan Le Roux)

2019: 1st in the Transat Jacques Vabre (Groupe GCA-Mille et un sourires, Gilles Lamiré & Antoine Carpentier)

Sun Fast 30 One Design